top of page

Done with Seminars (classes)!


As of Thursday, we are officially done with our scheduled classes. This is exciting and scary at the same time. While we are done with class, we are now getting into the more difficult (or maybe just less familiar) part of the programme. We are now at the tutorial section of our classes. We have to write a 2,000 word essay for each class (both this week and next week) for out tutorials. Some tutorials are structured a bit differently depending on the professor; however, most are structured similarly. For my classes, I will present my paper to my professor by reading it aloud. As this is happening, we will use the research I am presenting in a discussion-type hour long session. This is a really good experience to grow and learn as a student as well as terrifying at the same time. While we are able to discuss topics we did not cover as well as we might coud have in our papers, we also have to have a knowledge of the topic that is more broad than what our paper may directly cover. I am excited for this oportunity and also slightly worried about how it will be.

Although we have been working on our papers (I have finished one and am halfway on the other) we have still been busy with enjoying Oxford and the history section of our studies. This means that Friday we went to Salsbury Chapel, Old Sarem, and Stonehenge. All of these places were interesting to learn about in relation to their importance in the history of England. We also went on an optional feild trip to Blenheim Palace. (when I came to Oxford, I promised myself I would not say no to any of these unique experiences for the sake of a paper. So far I have kept it and hopefully will be able to continue to do so.) All of these places are so interesting to see and experience with the people of this program who have been here for years.

As a whole I really love the mix of academic and personal experiences that I have been able to have in this programme and am so excited to see what the next couple of weeks brings.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page