top of page

Starting papers


I haven't posted in a while because this week quickly went from a week with nothing to talk about to a week where I did not have energy left at the end of the day to write. My last update was after my first day of class so here's a bit of what this programme has entailed since then.

I have had one more day of out chosen seminars since then for a total of only six class hours since I have been here; however, I have been making up for that in the time spent outside of class working on homework, reading, or going on feildtrips. I will be making up for the lack of in-class time the next few days since I have two classes each day for the next three days.

On Friday we went on a feild trip to three seperate rural parish churches. (pictures should be included in the picture section of the blog.) It was a lot of fun and very beneficial, but it was an extremely exausting day as we walked miles to get to some of the churches. To end the night, we had our weekly Friday night movie with Jurassic Park (in honor of the newly released Jurrasic World).

Saturday was our busiest day yet. We took a group day trip to London. We left at 8:30 am and since my group got back late we come home at 12:30am. We took the bus to London and got there around ten thirty. We then walked towards the American Embassy, to the old aristocratic part of town, Buckingham Palace, Greene Park, and then ended for lunch at the center of the city. Our group of six or so decided to eat at a nearby pub which took longer than expected. We were late meeting up with our group and a political rally for Anti-Austerity began in the meantime. We eventually figured out the subway system and got to the right side of time. We still had time to kill before meeting up with our group at St. Paul's at five so we went down Queen Street and had a snack at a nearby cafe. We then Met our group at St. Pauls, which is probably the most increadible church I have seen, for Evensong. After Evensong we went to see the Globe Theater and then to Trafalger Square for lunch. Instead of hurrying to catch the bus with our group, we decided to try and find a different place to eat and enjoy our time while we were in London. We ended up going to China town for dinner, which was a very different experience since one of the students we were with was from that culture and was able to find a very authentic restaurant. After dinner, we went to a cafe for dessert and coffee and just absorbed the atmosphere of Trafalger Square on a Saturday night. It was a very nice way to enjoy and experience London even if we could only be there for a day. We caught a bus around 11 at night and were able to make it back home around 12:30.

Sunday, needless to say, was our day for sleeping in. We had been going all weekend and I was exausted and slept in until 11. I then ate a brunch-type meal and went to start on my paper. I worked on reasearch and papers for most of the day and got a frozen pizza for dinner (much better than American frozen pizza).

I am starting to get used to being here. It is a really neat environment, living with thirty or so other people who are interested in the same thing as you. We have a food group (of seven people where we prepare food for everyone once a week instead of cooking every day) and many of the conversations we have are much deeper than what I am used to. It is difficult to explain, but I think it is just the overall academic feeling surrounding Oxford. It is a nice change and I am really enjoying it so far.

Anyways, I guess that is all for now, I have two classes every day for the next few days so it will be a busy week from here out!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page