top of page

Checking out

So today is the day of packing up and leaving. Some of my friends have already left and some, like me, are leaving tomorrow morning. I am glad to be done with papers, tutorials, and class; however, I am very sad to leave this group of people behind. Most of the people here are from all over the US, which is nice in that you meet a wide variety of people, but also means that the chances of seeing them again are fairly small.

Although it is sad, I would not have given up this experience for anything. I feel that I have learned a lot and will be able to incorperate these lessons into my future studies.

I feel like I learned a lot from the classes, but also from the culture. I love that Oxford is such a studious town, it encourages a higher level of thinking even in the dinner conversation. It also encourages an atmosohere of learning to know, as opposed to fininshing the paper or getting the grade. I also love the more calm vibe of Oxford. Although there is always someone in a rush, for the most part, people are willing to get places when they get there. It is not such a high-intensity here as I feel we can sometimes have at home. There are things to do, but they will get done. These, I think, are the main lessons I want to take home with me: to learn for the sake of knowledge and to slow down every once in a while.

I am excited to travel though! I will be travelling around until the 22nd when I fly home. I will be going to Berlin, Germany; Amsterdam, Netherlands; Edinbourough, Scottland; Paris, France; and London, England (in no particular order) and cannot wait to get started! Many other students from the programme have decided to do the same since the airplane ticket costs more than the cost of staying a bit longer.

I am so happy for the opportunity I have had to study in Oxford and cannot thank LCU, LCU Honors College, an my friend and family enough for all of their support in enabling me to have this opportunity!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page